Send Flowers in the Netherlands

Overview of Provinces.

Welcome to our overview page of the Dutch provinces! You will find a convenient overview of all the florists in our network offering flower delivery in the Netherlands. We have organized the locations by province, so you can easily click on the province where you want to have your bouquet of flowers delivered. This will give you an instant list of places where our delivery service is available.

Whether you want to send a beautiful bouquet to family or friends, send a flowery surprise for a special occasion, or simply treat yourself to a colorful gift, our florists are ready to assist you.

Map of Nederland met Netwerk van bloemisten







Click on the desired province and discover the places where we offer flower delivery. We strive to provide you with the highest quality and service, so you can confidently order and have your flowers delivered. Enjoy the convenience and beauty of flowers delivered to your home, no matter where you are in the Netherlands!

Have Flowers Delivered Today.

Order easily and quickly via Flowers.NL. Your online florist for flower delivery throughout the Netherlands.

Understanding the Administrative Division of the Netherlands

The Netherlands, a picturesque and culturally rich country in Northwestern Europe, is divided into several administrative regions that facilitate efficient governance and public services. Understanding the division of the Netherlands is essential for anyone seeking to explore this charming nation and its unique characteristics. Let's delve into the hierarchical administrative structure of the Netherlands and discover the different levels of organization.

1. Provinces

At the highest level of administrative division, the Netherlands is divided into twelve provinces. Each province is an autonomous regional entity with its own government responsible for matters such as spatial planning, public transport, culture, and environmental policies. The provinces have distinct identities and are often named after their capital cities. Some well-known Dutch provinces include North Holland (Noord-Holland), South Holland (Zuid-Holland), Utrecht, and Gelderland.

2. Municipalities

Below the provincial level, the Netherlands is further divided into municipalities (gemeenten). There are currently over 350 municipalities in the country. Each municipality has its own local government, led by a mayor and a council. They handle essential services such as waste management, public safety, local infrastructure, and community development. Amsterdam, Rotterdam, and The Hague are among the most prominent municipalities in the Netherlands.

3. Water Boards

A unique aspect of the Dutch administrative division is the presence of water boards (waterschappen). These institutions are responsible for managing water levels, water quality, and flood protection. The Netherlands has 21 water boards that play a crucial role in maintaining the country's complex system of dikes, dams, and waterways.

4. Administrative Regions and Districts

Within the provinces, there are various administrative regions and districts, though their roles are less prominent compared to municipalities and water boards. These smaller divisions are often used for statistical or planning purposes and may not have separate governing bodies. The administrative division of the Netherlands reflects its commitment to decentralized governance and local autonomy. This approach allows regions and municipalities to tailor policies according to their unique needs, promoting a sense of local identity and involvement. It also fosters a strong community spirit, as citizens actively participate in decision-making processes that directly affect their daily lives. The division of the Netherlands goes beyond just administrative boundaries; it also reflects the diverse cultural landscape of the country. Each province and municipality boasts its own traditions, dialects, and historical landmarks, contributing to the rich tapestry of Dutch heritage. The cohesive structure of the Netherlands' administrative division enables efficient public services and effective governance. It ensures that decisions are made with a deep understanding of local challenges and aspirations. Moreover, the Netherlands' approach to decentralized governance has been an inspiration for other countries seeking to strike a balance between national unity and regional diversity. In conclusion, the Netherlands' administrative division comprises provinces, municipalities, and water boards, each contributing to the nation's cohesive functioning. Embracing both local autonomy and national unity, this division reinforces the Dutch spirit of community engagement and showcases the Netherlands as a model of effective governance and vibrant cultural diversity. Send Flowers